COMMUNICATIONS from the Bishop

No. 942          Diocese of Marbel, Philippines                   12 July 2017


JULY 8-10, 2017


  1. The election of the new officers of the CBCP had the following results:


01 December 2017 – 30 November 2019 

President                    :           Abp. Romulo G. Valles

Vice President            :           Bp. Pablo Virgilio S. David

Treasurer                   :           Abp. John F. Du

Secretary General     :           Rev. Fr. Marvin S. Mejia 

Regional Representatives


North               :           Abp. Marlo M. Peralta

Central                        :           Bp. Ruperto C. Santos

South               :           Bp. Jose R. Rojas

Southeast        :           Bp. Victor C. Ocampo

Southwest       :           Bp. Reynaldo G. Evangelista                        


            East                 :           Bp. Isabelo  C.Abarquez

West                :           Abp. Jose F. Advincula                     


            North               :           Abp. Martin S. Jumoad

South               :           Abp. Romulo T. dela Cruz


Chairmen of the Episcopal Commissions, Committees and Offices:

Episcopal Committee on Basic Ecclesial Communities Bp. Jose A. Cabantan

Episcopal Commission on Biblical Apostolate Bp. Sofronio A. Bancud, SSS

Episcopal Office on Bioethics                                                            Bp.  Ricardo L. Baccay

Episcopal Commission on Canon Law                                               Bp. Jacinto A. Jose

Episcopal Com. on Catechesis and Catholic Education Bp. Roberto C. Mallari

Episcopal Commission on Clergy                                                       Bp. Buenaventura M. Famadico

Episcopal Commission on Cultural Heritage of the Church               Bp. Julito B. Cortes

Episcopal Commission on Culture                                                      Bp.  Elenito D. Galido

Episcopal Commission on Doctrine of the Faith                                Orlando B. Cardinal Quevedo, OMI

Episcopal Commission on Ecumenical Affairs                                   Bp. Angelito R. Lampon, OMI

Episcopal Commission on Family and Life                                        Bp. Gilbert A. Garcera

Episcopal Commission on Health Care                                               Bp. Patricio A. Buzon, SDB

Episcopal Commission on Indigenous Peoples                                   Bp. Prudencio P. Andaya, CICM

Permanent Committee on Internl. Eucharistic Congresses                 Abp. Jose S. Palma

Episcopal Com. on Inter-religious Dialogue                                       Bp. Emmanuel T. Cabajar, CSsR

Episcopal Commission on the Laity                                                   Bp. Broderick S. Pabillo

Episcopal Commission on Liturgy                                                      Bp. Victor B. Bendico

Episcopal Commission on Migrants and Itinerant People                  Bp. Ruperto C. Santos

Episcopal Commission on Mission                                                     Bp.  Arturo M. Bastes, SVD

Episcopal Commission on Mutual Relations                                      Abp. Antonio J. Ledesma, SJ

Episcopal Commission on PontificioCollegioFilippino                       Luis Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle

Episcopal Commission on Prison Pastoral Care                                  Bp. Joel Z. Baylon

Permanent Committee on Public Affairs                                            Bp. Reynaldo G. Evangelista

Episcopal Commission on Seminaries                                     Bp. Gerardo A. Alminaza

Episcopal Com. on Social Action, Justice and Peace                         Abp. Rolando J. TriaTirona, OCD

Episcopal Commission on Social Communications                            Bp. Mylo Hubert C. Vergara

Episcopal Commission on Vocations                                                  Bp. David William V. Antonio

Episcopal Office on Women                                                               Abp. Jose F. Advincula, Jr.

Episcopal Commission on Youth                                                        Bp. Leopoldo C. Jaucian, SVD

  1. The 116th Plenary Assembly will be on January 27-29, 2018 while the Bishops Seminar which will be joined with the Seminar for the Seminary Formators on the new Ratio Fundamentalis will be from January 22-25, 2018. The venue is tentatively at the IEC Pavilion in Cebu City.
  1. At the request of the Chairman of the Episcopal Commission on Catechesis and Catholic Education (ECCCE), Bp. Mallari, the body approved that there will be a National Second Collection every third Sunday of September for the needs of ECCCE.
  1. While the Episcopal Commission on Mission is the lead commission for the year 2021 Celebration with their main activity of a Mission Symposium on April 12-13, 2021 and Mission Congress on April 14-16, 2021, the Permanent Council will take the lead in involving other commissions for other activities that will be done throughout the year celebrating 500 years of Christianity.
  1. The body voted on the following liturgical prayers/texts:

A. Prayers for the Feast of Jesus the Eternal High Priest

In favor                       –          66

Not in favor    –                       0

Abstained        –                      0

B. Gray Book – Order of Blessing of Oils for Catechumens, of the Sick, and Chrism

In favor                       –           66

Not in favor    –                        0

Abstained        –                        0

Approval of the Pedro Calungsod Bible so that it will become the official Bible translation in Cebuano

In favor                       –           64

Not in favor    –                        1

Abstain                        –           4

C. Approval that this Pedro Calungsod Bible will become the liturgical text for the Evangelary

In favor                       –           65

Not in favor    –                       1

Abstain                        –           3

  1. With 58 voting in favor, 10 not in favor and 1 abstained, the body voted not to increase the quota and to approve the 2018 Budget with a projected P 740,648.50 deficit.
  1. The body decided that the Manna Fund coming from the Archdiocese of Manila will continue to be used by the CBCP retroactive to 2010 and subject for review after five years.
  1. The body decided to create an ad-hoc committee which will review the quota based on per capita income of the diocese, population, inflation rates, etc. The committee is composed of Bp. Ruperto C. Santos as convenor, Bps. Precioso D. Cantillas, SDB and Mylo Hubert C. Vergara.
  1. The body decided that the request of the PhilCCCRS be endorsed to the Commission on the Laity to study and to submit the latter’s their recommendation to the Permanent Council.
  1. The body issued the CBCP Statement on Marawi, Terrorism and Dialogue.

Back to: 2017 Communications from the Bishop

About bishopdinualdo

Bishop Dinualdo D. Gutierrez is the Bishop of the Diocese of Marbel
This entry was posted in CBCP Meeting/Plenary Assembly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s